Pre-Christmas gratitude – 5 things I’m grateful for


In these couple of days before Christmas, it’s traditional to review some of the ‘best of’ 2008. It’s been just over a year since I started this blog, and the topic list and readership has grown a whole lot!

What am I grateful for in 2008?

  1. Teamwork – the people I work with are fantastic. You can’t work alone in pain management IMHO,  a team of like-minded people to support you both professionally and personally just can’t be beaten.  I take my hat off to the team at Burwood Pain Management Centre who keep me honest, deflate my ego (gently), cushion my falls, keep me standing and give me inspiration to keep on caring about what I do.
  2. Motivation – using motivational approaches like motivational interviewing to help people make their own choices rather than remaining ambivalent.  Whatever the choice, it’s easier to make changes once you’re moving than remain stuck.  I’m grateful for the sense of freedom that using motivational approaches has given me, and that I’ve been able to apply it in my work.  Now if only it could work with my kids?!
  3. The magic of the interweb – and so many dedicated bloggers. I find it unbelievable that there are so many people who spend time writing intelligent, interesting, provoking and inspiring posts on topics dear to my heart – and it’s all free (provided you can get on the internet).  There are so many topics to choose from, and the quality can be stunning.  I’m not a ‘Web 2.0’ kind of person, and I’m not about to rave about the wonders of interactivity, I’m simply awed at how many people spend time putting up resources so the rest of us can find them.
  4. The people in healthcare who do so much more than simply their job. While I was recovering from my postconcussion syndrome (whoever calls it ‘mild’ traumatic brain injury hasn’t had one), the people who helped me stay positive, reminding me that there is a ‘recovery’ at the end of it, and going above and beyond the call of duty to support me – they show me once again that people are at the heart of healthcare. And no matter what kind of  ‘quality’ system or management strategy is put in place – it’s the things that individuals do that give of themselves that make it a health system.
  5. Debates.  For all that some debates make me furious, debating stimulates my thinking, makes me check my assumptions, recheck my facts, and helps me clarify my reasons for saying the things I do.  I’m glad I live in a place where thinking freely, questioning and being inquisitive is allowed.

Tomorrow – some of the topics of 2008 that tickled my fancy.   If you’ve enjoyed this post, and want to read more, either click the RSS feed link above, or simply bookmark my blog and come on back!  I love comments – and you can introduce yourself on the ‘introductions’ page and check out who else has been stopping by!

copy-of-merry-259x400

3 comments

  1. I love these lists you have done. I think I can agree with all of those items although for different reasons! In fact, it’s interesting how much commonality there can be..

Leave a Reply

