Links and other good things from my intray


One of the great things about being an information junkie is the amount of cool stuff that I get to read via the internet and email.  So I thought I’d show you some of the stuff I’ve got in the last little while.

First up is the Pain Blog Carnival run by How to Cope with Pain.  The topic this month is Thankfulness, because it’s that time of the year.  We don’t have this event in New Zealand – shame really – because it’s a great idea to celebrate all that people are thankful for.  I’m especially thankful that I live here in New Zealand – it’s a beautiful country, beautiful scenery, wonderfully open and friendly people, and the lifestyle is incredible.  Not to mention that people in New Zealand can understand me, while in other parts of the world people can find my accent somewhat hard to follow!

Next is a regular newsletter I get from RTW Matters. This week is especially cool because it has notice of a new RTW guide for occupational therapists, published by the esteemed Canadian Institute for Work and Health, in collaboration with the Ontario Society of Occupational Therapists and College of Occupational Therapists, Ontario. I’ll be commenting on this soon, so come on back for more!

Another piece of news through my intray is WellSphere, which is an internet community of health information – from patients/consumers, health professionals, and other providers.  You may have seen the logo on the left of my blog.  Something that is quite unique is that once you’ve joined (it’s free) you can set up automatic reminders for health-related tips.  There are a batch of tools you can use – well worth a visit (no pun intended!).

You can also get weekly medical-related information from Medscape: Medscape Today. Free registration again, and weekly  news about all sorts of health information.  The great thing too is that you can go through CME learning modules on things like Motivational Interviewing for Diabetes, A Patient With Stress-Related Onset and Exacerbations of Graves Disease, and Foot pain in elderly patients.

The final one today is the Pain.com monthly newsletter.  It was a little late this month – but they’ve been busy! Again like Medscape, the focus is on CME – and much of it is definitely biomedical in nature, but provided you pick and choose from among the learning activities, you can find some good stuff, like the post about travelling if you have chronic pain – now that’s something I hadn’t really thought about!

Tomorrow brings another day.  I’m thankful for that.  I’m also thankful for the four new books that arrived from a large international bookstore (no prizes for guessing which one!), so you can bet I’ll be posting about some things that WORK seeing as I’ve done a couple about things that don’t.  I just wanted to reassure you on that!  But at the same time I think it’s important that I don’t gloss over new findings that challenge the received wisdom of ‘what works’.  So while I’m tough on things like unhelpful ongoing investigations to find the ’cause’ of persistent pain, I’m equally tough on things like working out whether pacing helps, or cognitive therapy works!!

One comment

  1. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a Reply

