Confidence and occupational therapy


If you’re an occupational therapist, take a look at my post under the Occupational Therapists Only page. You’ll need a password (just email me).

I’m keen to find out how confident occupational therapists are, and how readily they can define their practice. Not to be ‘exclusive’ (as you know I’m definitely NOT into patch protection), but to see whether ‘we’ can be clear and confident about what we can offer a team.

I will admit to being concerned that some occupational therapists, in an effort to stake a claim to ‘their role’, almost seem to say ‘OT can do ANYTHING’ (or everything), while on the other hand, some can find it difficult to articulate briefly and confidently just what they can offer a team.

If you’re not an occupational therapist, I’m really curious to find out what your expectations are from occupational therapists. Do you know what you can ask for from an OT? Do you know about the training, the therapeutic tools, the areas of intervention of the occupational therapists you know? Drop me a line – I’m really keen to find out!

4 comments

  1. I’m a license physical therapist..
    yes, occupational therapist is very important in the training specially, psychological training..🙂
    They are helpful with autistisms and other illnesses..

  2. Hi Jonathan
    Nice to hear from you – and especially nice to hear that you appreciate the psychological aspects of occupational therapy. I think that’s one of the distinguishing features of occupational therapy compared with exercise and physical therapists. But at the same time I think exercise and physical therapists use psychological methods all the time – otherwise people would never do the exercises that are recommended!
    Thanks for your comment, and I hope to hear from you again soon.
    Bronnie

  3. I think there is a lot of ignorance about what OTs do. I think there’s even quite a degree of confusion about the differences between PTs and OTs and, in some settings, they tend to get lumped together.

    When I worked on a rehabilitation team, everyone’s role was very compartmentalised. The OTs seemed to be the ones doing the home visits, assessing what adjustments might be required, their role seemed to fit the commonly held view and there was little to dispel that.

    I only had a greater awareness of the role because I had previously seen an excellent OT myself (for chronic illness) who took the more holisitic approach you advocate and who was an excellent CBT practitioner among many other things.

  4. Hi HP
    I agree, there is a lot of confusion about occupational therapy because it’s not a set of ‘techniques’ but a focus of therapy. So while some OT’s do deal with equipment to help people manage functional tasks, others use CBT.
    In some settings OT and PT do quite similar things – hand therapy, for example. But again, it’s about the focus – for OT its how can this person use this skill in the real world, while for PT it’s about movement and control.
    In places where health psych is unavailable, OT can often overlap with nursing to do some of what a health psych can offer – which is why I think it’s great to focus not on ‘what is my role’ but ‘what can I offer this team’…

Leave a Reply

