HON Code of Conduct


Some of the observant readers may have spotted something NEW on my blog!! Take a look at the right hand column, I’m now able to display the ‘HON’Code logo, which means that I have worked to ensure my blog adheres to the requirements of the ‘Honesty on the Net’ Code of Conduct, and that I will continue to work to meeting these requirements throughout my website.

To quote from the website “The HONcode is not an award system, nor does it intend to rate the quality of the information provided by a Web site. It only defines a set of rules to:
– hold Web site developers to basic ethical standards in the presentation of information;
– help make sure readers always know the source and the purpose of the data they are reading.

Head over to the FAQ section of their website to find out more about the code and what it means.

In the meantime, I’m feeling really happy that I can say that I’ve achieved a standard of ethical behaviour that has been recognised.
If you ever think I’ve stepped over the ethical boundaries – or if I omit referencing, or seem to make unfounded statements that I don’t acknowledge as ‘my opinion’, please leave a comment, email me, do something to bring it to my attention – you can do this anonymously of course – and I will do my very best to make amends, or rectify the situation.

If you’re wanting to ensure the sites you visit do meet the standards required by HON, you can download the HONCode Plugin, which is a toolbar that “Automatically checks the accreditation of the website being viewed. The HONcode seal appears in color if the website is in compliance with the HONcode.” and can perform the “HONcode Search” which searches the HON database of accredited websites.

A further few pointers:
The HONcode toolbar is easy to download and add to your web browser.
It connects in realtime to the HON server to verify the accreditation status of health/medical websites, does not collect any personal information from you, and contains no ‘spyware’ or hidden functions.
There are versions for Internet Explorer, and for Netscape/Mozilla/Firefox – but I don’t know about Safari users.

One comment

Leave a Reply

